Cooking: Sticky Rice with Chicken – Lo Mai Gai (糯米雞)

I don’t normally have sticky rice in my pantry, but I did on this occasion. I was browsing through the Made with Lau recipe index, and realized I had most of the required ingredients on-hand, I decided to make “lo mai gai”. It’s a popular item for dim-sum.

This is a sticky rice dumpling stuffed with sauteed chicken, wrapped and steamed in a lotus leaf.

I said I had most of the ingredients, I did not have lotus leaves, and I wasn’t about to make a special trip to find some, but I did have parchment paper, and I read (on Woks of Life) that this was a reasonable substitute.

Here, I’ll prepare 3-4 servings, eat one of them, and freeze the rest for later. Then, it’s heat and serve.

Ingredients (2 servings)

  • 2 oz boneless chicken, cubed
  • 1 dried shiitake mushrooms (rehydrated)
  • 1/2 stick chinese sausage (lap cheong)
  • 1/2 lb glutinous rice
  • 1tsp + 1 tsp light soy
  • 1/2 tsp dark soy
  • 1 tsp + 1 tsp oyster sauce
  • ginger
  • 1/2 cup diced shallots or onions
  • 1 tsp chicken bouillon powder
  • 2-4 lotus leaves
  • 1/2 tsp vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp tapioca starch
  • 1/4 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 tsp granulated sugar

Since I didn’t have any lotus leaves on hand, but did have parchment paper, I started by cutting a few sheets off, large enough for 3-4 large servings.

Combine the sauce for the stir fried chicken by combining 1tsp light & 1/2 tsp dark soy, 1 tsp oyster sauce, 1/4 tsp sesame oil, 1 tsp chicken bouillon powder, and 1 tsp sugar in a small bowl.

Also prepare the rice sauce, by combining 1tsp light soy, 1tsp oyster sauce, and 1/2 tsp vegetable oil.

Thinly sliced up the shiitake mushrooms.

and sliced up the lap cheong

start cooking the sticky rice (I’m using a rice cooker, but this can also be done on a stove top using a regular pot).

stir fry the onions/shallots

sautee/stir fry the chicken pieces over medium high heat until cooked through.

turn off heat, add the sauce to the chicken, along with the sliced mushrooms, and lap cheong, stir until thoroughly combined, and set aside.

once the rice is cooked, add the sauce for the rice, and stir thoroughly

spread a layer of the sticky rice on the lotus leaf (or in my case, the parchment paper)

then layer the sauteed chicken with mushrooms and lap cheong

and add a second layer of the sticky rice over the filling

wrap up the sticky rice using the lotus leaf/parchment paper

And steam for 20-30 minutes until warmed through (If reheating from a frozen state, it will take about 40 mins to an hour).

unwrap and serve

this particular one was a large serving

Leave a comment