Restaurant review: Oakwood Canadian Bistro

Our second stop for Dine Out Vancouver 2016 was the Oakwood Bistro in Kitsilano. This is a west coast cuisine bistro but accessible and affordable.

We arrived early for our reservation, but were seated immediately.
IMG_20160128_201639

IMG_20160128_201259

My dinner companion started with the buttermilk fried chicken, endive & pear salad.

IMG_20160128_202241

This is a fresh salad, dressed with a honey mustard ginger dressing and topped with pieces of boneless buttermilk fried chicken.  I only had a taste of the chicken, which was crispy but moist on the inside.  It was really good fried chicken.

My appetizer was the lemon pepper calamari.

IMG_20160128_202229

This is humbolt squid, dredged in seasoned flour and blanched in hot oil until lightly crispy.  It’s served with blistered green beans and a rouille sauce.  The squid was tender and tasty (properly seasoned) with a light crisp, but I found the pieces a little too big, making the squid seem chewy.  I liked the green beans (I made me think I was eating something healthy, even though I darn well know it’s completely offset by all the deep fried goodness).

My dinner companion’s entree was the smoked ham hock orecchiette

IMG_20160128_203735

This is a rustic pasta dish with cubed ham hock, shemiji mushrooms, roasted brussel sprouts, crème fraiche, and pangratatto

My entree was the ling cod.

IMG_20160128_203754

This is ling cod poached in olive oil, served on wild rice, cauliflower puree, ribbons of pickled fennel, topped with a coconut curry sauce and puffed rice.  This was a good fish dish, and I surprised myself because I liked the mild coconut curry sauce more than I expected.  I liked the tartness of the pickled fennel, but not the fennel itself (never been a fan of fennel).

This was my dinner companion’s dessert, the salted caramel & apple cheesecake (I was a little too slow with the camera).

IMG_20160128_205600

This was my dessert, a chocolate & orange tres leches cake

IMG_20160128_205632

This is a mason jar filled with cubes of dense cake, moistened with cream, condensed milk and evaporated milk.  It’s topped with a chocolate orange sauce.  This was my first experience with tres leche cake.  It was pretty good, but I’m not sure that I would order another such dessert.  Not because this was a poor execution, I’m sure it was well make, but I’m not a fan of evaporated milk.  But I did like the chocolate orange sauce.

Our server was very casual, friendly and attentive.

The room is fairly large, but the lighting is subdued, and the tables are packed together so it feels a tiny bit cramped.

Overall, this was probably one of the best meals I had during Dine Out 2016, and would certainly come back to Oakwood again.

The Oakwood Canadian Bistro Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

