Restaurant review: Ancora

This was my first stop during Dine Out Vancouver 2016.

Ancora is a Peruvian-Japanese restaurant at the foot of Howe street, occupying the space that was previously home to Rob Clark’s “C” restaurant.

IMG_20160116_201735

This is a gorgeous modern dining space, bright airy, elegant and contemporary.

IMG_20160116_202843

We stuck with the “Dine Out” menu for this meal.

IMG_20160116_202033

After we ordered, our server brought over some Complementary bread

IMG_20160116_203150

This consisted of a pair of slices of crusty multigrain bread, and a larger pair of slices of tender quick bread.  It came with a small dish of creamery butter.  This was pretty good bread, I preferred the quick bread.

My appetizer was Crab Causa

IMG_20160116_203637

This is a cold appetizer dish consisting of a tower made from mashed yukon gold potatoes, dungeness crab salad, a slice of hard boiled quail egg, served on a bed of kalamata olive emulsion, and a crispy yam chip in a dollop of huancaina sauce.

This is a pretty good dish.  I’m not a fan of olives, it didn’t really sell me.  I like the potato and the cold crab salad.  The seasoning was about right, but the flavors of this dish were understated.

My dinner companion’s appetizer was the LOBSTER BISQUE

IMG_20160116_203617

It was topped wih a chive crème fraiche.  Since I only had a small taste, I can’t really comment on the dish too much.

My companion’s entree was the BRAISED BEEF SHORT RIB topped with natural jus.

IMG_20160116_205553

It’s served an a bed roasted mushroom puree, with an onion marmalade, roasted brussels sprouts, baby carrot.

My entree was the PACIFIC LINGCOD PAELLA

IMG_20160116_205601

It’s served on ‘forbidden’ black rice, chorizo, Peruvian corn, smoked paprika emulsion.  I liked this dish a lot.  The cod fillet is seared on both sides, and finished to the just the right doneness.  I didn’t care too much for the black rice, it was a little grainy.  But I liked the knobby kernels of corn.  The chorizo was rather mild and easy to miss.

My companion’s dessert  CHOCOLATE RASPBERRY MOUSSE

IMG_20160116_211336

It’s served with a raspberry compote, and a dollop of vanilla ice cream

My dessert was the YOGHURT PANNA COTTA

IMG_20160116_211356

It’s topped with crushed roasted pistachio, and served with orange marmalade, apple sorbet. The yoghurt panna cotta is mild and delicate and creamy.  The orange marmalade had a nice sweet and sour tang.  The apple sorbet was okay, but a little icy.

Our server was very pleasant and attentive.

The room, as previously mentioned, is modern, bright, spacious and gorgeous.

Ancora Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

