Streetfood review: RimFoodBaht truck

So following along the “lets eat everything” theme for my Canada Day, while wandering around from one street food truck location to the next, we stumbled upon Rimfoodbaht (the authentic Thai street food vendor).

This was quite luck because

a) I had wanted to try it

b) I didn’t know they’d be open today

c) I wouldn’t have expect them to be in this location (Burrard and Hastings, as opposed to their usual location next to the CBC studios on Hamilton).

When we arrived, a young woman (I believe she is a co-owner of the business) was sampling their Massaman curry chicken.  It was quite nice, creamy with just a touch of heat, and a smooth peanut flavour.

Just as an aside, I remember trying Massuman curry when I was in Thailand in 2002, and I don’t remember a peanut flavour.

But I digress.  I checked out the menu (which, I understand, changes regularly) and decided upon

The green curry chicken with eggplant. This is chunks of chicken, simmered in a spicy creamy curry, with portions of eggplant that were cooked to a nice al dente, and spiked with holy basil and (I think) kaffir lime leaves.  I could taste the sweetness and creamyness of the coconut milk, the aroma of the lemon grass, and the sneaky heat of the chilies.  I say “sneaky heat” because it didn’t hit me right away.  It wasn’t until the fifth or sixth chew when the heat started to kick my palate around.

This is a really good thai curry dish.  For the portion and price, this is an awesome lunch.  I’m going to have to go back for more sometime soon.

Now I want to go back when they have their padthai available.
Rimfoodbaht on Urbanspoon

Update 1:

Upon further reading, I understand that massuman curry usually does have peanuts, it seems the version that I tried (in 2002) was the outside the norm.

Update 2:

I decided to venture back for a second tasting.  This time I ordered

sautéed basil eggplant with ground pork.  As with the previous visit, the dish is prepared to order, and served over jasmine rice (brown rice was available as an option, but I prefer regular white rice).  I was given an option for degree of spiciness (I chose medium).

I’ve had a dish much like this before (minus the eggplant), but this preparation is much better.  There’s a pronounced aroma of garlic and basil spicy chilies, with a little soy and fish sauce.

Update 3:

The good folks on the Rimfoodbaht truck added padthai to their menu, and I had to sample it.

No sign of ketchup anywhere.  Hurray!  This seems to be a pretty authentic padthai dish,  much like I tasted when I was in Thailand in 2002.  The noodles are soft (a little softer than “al dente”) and there’s a rich aroma of fish sauce and tamarind.  Served on the side is a wedge of lime, a little dried chili flakes and some crushed roasted peanuts.  I think all three have to be mixed in to get the perfect balance of sweet, salty, sour and spicy.  The peanuts and bean sprouts provide a little crunch to the texture, and the chicken and tofu provide some firmness to the bite.   The one odd thing is the use of dried baby shrimp.  It’s not wrong, I saw it done like this once in Thailand, but that’s the only other time I’ve observed it.  It adds some extra crunch to the texture, and some extra saltiness.  In hindsight, I would have gotten the fresh shrimp instead of the chicken in this dish.

Leave a Reply

