Restaurant review: Dunn’s Famous

on

I’d walked past Dunn’s many times and finally decided to give it a try.  I’ve only had montreal smoked meat once before, so it’s a bit difficult to compare or evaluate the quality or authenticity.

I understand that Dunn’s is a chain of smoke meat sandwich restaurants in Montreal, Ottawa and Toronto, and that this is the first location in western Canada.

From the outside, the restaurant doesn’t look like a sandwich shop.  The multiple TV screens, the servers attire, the full service bar (and the menu) make this place feel more like a “pub”.

I was seated immediately at a small window table and presented a menu.  Beyond sandwiches, the menu also offers a varied pub menu of chicken strips, nachos, potato skins, soups, salads, burgers, pasta, steak entrees, and chicken entrees.

But since Dunn’s is known for smoked meat, that was the way I had to go.  I ordered the smoked meat sandwich combo with the soup of the day.  Service was blindingly quick.  I don’t think I waited more than five minutes before my order arrived.

The soup of the day was tomato florentine.  It’s a pretty good soup, rich, and properly seasoned.

The coleslaw seemed to be pretty good.  It appears to be freshly prepared, and dressed with a vinaigrette, rather than mayonnaise, making it crisp and clean, rather than creamy.   I’m not a fan of pickles, so I didn’t eat it.

The smoked meat sandwich (I chose the “medium” cut, as opposed to the “lean” or “fat”) arrived hot. It’s a tasty sandwich, the smoked meat has a nice cure to it, and very tender.  The light rye has a nice chew with a lightly developed sourdough flavour.
Dunn's Famous on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

