Restaurant Review: Pink Elephant Thai restaurant

I was offline for a while because of computer problems, but now I’m back and eatin’!

I went for lunch last weekend at Pink Elephant Thai on Alberni Street.  I’d read a fair amount of buzz over social networking, so I thought I’d give it a go.

It’s a fairly big place, bright, airy, and very contemporary (arguably too much so.  The pink highlights are bit over the top for my liking, but it’s not a deal breaker).

It was fairly quiet, and I was seated immediately.

I ordered a Pad Thai lunch special (with chicken).  I know, I’m so tame and predictable.  I always order pad thai, but hey, I love it, and besides, it is the closest thing there is to a national dish in Thailand.  So I consider it an acid test.

The lunch special normally includes stuffed chicken wings, but today, they substituted deep-fried wonton with a sweet sauce drizzle, and a green salad.

The fried wonton was decent enough, but not memorable.  The green salad was crisp and fresh.

Shortly after, my noodles arrived.

This was hit and miss.  The noodles were well prepared, the seasoning and sauce were spot on.  The bean sprouts were fresh and crisp.  But the chicken seemed dry and a bit overcooked.

My server was pleasant and genial.

This restaurant strikes me as a great place to be social.  Bring a pack of friends, eat drink and be merry.

I’m not ready to give this place a thumbs up or thumbs down.  I think I’d like to try some of their other fare first.

 
Pink Elephant Thai on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

