This represents about 3 different outings, each time sampling a different food truck.

First up was Le Tigre, and this was at the Kitsilano Farmer’s Market.  We ordered the Kickass Rice with Pork Belly.

IMG_20130526_121031

This is a rice cooked in butter, dashi and sake, topped with a poached egg, and braised pork belly, garnished with chilies, cilantro and a little spicy aioli.  When I saw this and bit into it, I was expecting the pork belly to have a crunch, like the roasted pork you get from the chinese butcher shop.

I know it’s braised and it should not have a crunch, when I see it sliced the way it is, that’s comes to mind.  That said, this is pretty good dish.  I like the rice and the herbs.  I like the poached egg.  The pork was tender and buttery.  But even though it wasn’t billed as having anything crunchy, I felt the dish really could use something to give it some crunch.
Le Tigre Cuisine Mobile Food Truck on Urbanspoon

Next up was Mogu, the Japanese influenced Food Truck, sampled at the Richmond Night Market.  I’d sampled their pork miso katsu sandwich before, and found it pretty good, but this time it was their spicy sweet Karaage.

IMG_20130518_193315

This is three generous chunks of chicken (thigh meat, I think), marinated in miso, dredged in mochi flour and deep-fried to a light crunch, serve with a sweet chili dipping sauce.  This is a winner of a dish.  The chicken is moist and tender, with a good hit of flavor from the marinade.

It’s got a good crunch from the batter, and the sweet spicy chili sauce hits a good balance.
Mogu Japanese Street Eats on Urbanspoon

Finally was Yolks, the breakfast food truck, and I ordered the chicken and waffles.  This was also a the Kitsilano Farmer’s Market.

IMG_20130526_122223

This is two waffles, served with a deep-fried chicken cutlet.  The cutlet is cut into large strips after frying, and the whole thing is drizzled with maple syrup, a white gravy and dusted with confectioners sugar.

I liked the waffles themselves.  They’re a little heavier than I expected, but still quiet good.  The chicken tasted okay, but was a little bit dry (presumably over cooked).  The white gravy was a bit expected.  It doesn’t really add anything to the dish. It’s not sweet or savory, so it adds little as flavors go.  It does provide some creaminess though.

I wanted to like this dish alot more than I did.

Yolk's Breakfast on Urbanspoon

